I’m a Star… Or at Least in One!

Not sure if having an article written about you in a community newspaper makes you a star, but this week a few friends and colleagues were surprised to open the “Orleans Star,” look at a picture and say, “Hey, I know that guy! That’s Craig Senior!”

This is my first hometown article. I had a few speaker-from-away articles, but none at home. The well-written article by reporter Laura Cummings describes my winning the Toastmasters District 61 Table Topics Contest for the fourth time, a how I got into public speaking, and what I hope to do with it. After covering the basic story, the interview turned into another form of Table Topics:

  • How has public speaking helped you?
  • How can it help others?
  • What are your top tips for public speaking?

To find out my answers you will have to read… oops, my phone is ringing. Could be a prospect looking for a presentation! Just a sec… I’ll be right back…

… no, no speech booking for me, but I can get a security alarm system free for three months without any obligation other then listening to a no-obligation sales presentation at my convenience as long as my convenience occurs at 2:00 p.m. or 5:00 p.m. tomorrow. Can’t be there; I am busy breathing.

Sorry, where was I? Oh yes. You can read my answers to Karen’s questions at the following link: READ THE ARTICLE.

After the interview, the photographer, Étienne Ranger, dropped by to take the pictures. We didn’t have a great indoor setting, so we went out into Sparks Street Mall after Ottawa’s first big snowstorm of the year. Étienne has great energy, so he bounced around left, right, in close, step away. Being a photography enthusiast, I noticed that he focused his camera manually; I live for autofocus. He said it’s easier for him to control the focus manually, expecially for sports events. I flashed back to the summer past, tying to take pictures of a bicycle race. By the time the auto-focus focussed, riders sped out of focus! It frustrated me. Manual focus, eh? Noted.

The process of arranging and being interviewed was very rewarding. If you have a particular interest, talent, or passion, perhaps your local newspaper would like to share your story. To find newspapers, here is a link to a list of over 170 newspapers across Canada.

Speak up and speak out!
Craig

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

